In celebration of Prince’s 61st birthday this estate has released a 15-track album total Originals. The album is made-up of 15 songs Prince originally recorded before handing off to other artists. The hits include “Nothing compares 2 U” (The Family/Sinéad O’Connor), “Jungle Love” (Morris Day & The Time’s big track), “The Glamorous Life” (Sheila E.), and “Maniac Monday” (The Bangles). Some of the tracks have been passed around for years by bootleggers, but Originals marks their first official release.

Originals was curated by Prince’s estate in conjunction with JAY-Z who shared a statement in celebration of the album’s release: “Prince led the way, for artistic freedom, for ownership. He’s one of the bravest people I can think of in the industry. He trusted us, not just me, but Tidal to continue his fight. Trying to help further that legacy through his music is an honor we couldn’t pass up as an organization dedicated to empowering artists. This gives his true fans that peek behind the curtain.”

TIDAL users can stream Originals here — it will be exclusive to the streaming platform for two weeks before making its way to other services. The entire project will have a wide release via Warner Bros. on all streaming platforms on June 21. A deluxe physical edition of Originals, which will contain a CD and 180-gram purple vinyl, will drop on July 19.


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *